Alfred Odrick House

Dublin Core

Title

Alfred Odrick House

Date

1872

Description

Formerly enslaved, Alfred Odrick, purchased 30 acres in 1872 along the south side of Lewinsville Road beginning at Springhill Road. Odrick farmed the land, but he was a carpenter by trade and, so, built his house. A vibrant Black community developed along Lewinsville Road. Odrick’s farmhouse was destroyed by fire sometime after 1947.

Creator

Alfred Odrick

Building Item Type Metadata

Location

Lewinsville Road

District

Dranesville

Additional Notes

There are remains of his homesite in the form of a stone cellar foundation beside a paved pathway along Lewinsville Road near the entrance to the Bellmead subdivision, discovered as a result of archaeological investigations. In front of the foundation is a historic wayside marker, sponsored by the Fairfax County Park Authority, that discusses the significance of Odrick to the Lewinsville community. This area is particularly important for archaeological purposes and has been placed on the Fairfax County Inventory of Historic Sites.

Citation

Alfred Odrick, “Alfred Odrick House,” Fairfax County African American History Inventory, accessed May 19, 2024, https://fairfaxaahi.centerformasonslegacies.com/items/show/67.